JRPG/RPG · Otome · Otome Game · Overview

Overview : 2016 Gaming & Top 10

The year of 2016 has ended and here’s my gaming overview of the games I played within the year. Before I forget, please expect this blog post to be long and photo heavyー 2016 was actually the year I got my PS Vita, I named her Vii, from my uncle as a present! I was supposed to own 2 vita consoles, the other one was also a present from my aunt, but I gave my sister the other one instead. ( ´ ▽ ` )

Happy New Year to everyone~ Rikka here! Well belated to be exact as this is already a late post. Due to mother nature’s wrath, my city became a ghost town and went on dark age because of the heavy damages brought by typhoon Nina. My city’s still recovering from the devastation and luckily there was no casualties! Thank God really. (˚ ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ )

With that said, 2016 was a gaming year I never expected to play lots of games to be honest. I actually thought I’ll only play about 10 games but I managed to finish 18 games to my surprise after backtracking! My gaming log is a combination of otome and RPG games so maybe that’s why I got to play a lot over a year? (^^ゞ

Anyhow, my yearly overview will already include my top 10 games I’ve played within 2016. The top 10 are games that I enjoyed playing so much and left a huge impression on me as I finished its story! Even if the game isn’t included in my rankings, I still enjoyed playing them nevertheless no worries! I should also work on the game reviews but let’s start with my gaming overview! ヾ(。・ω・)シ

#1 Final Fantasy XV
“I cry for precious Prince Noctisー ( ᵒ̴̶̷̥́ _ᵒ̴̶̷̣̥̀ )”

After 10 years of game development, from versus XIII to XV, I gotta say I feel quite happy at the same time incomplete with Final Fantasy XV. I honestly enjoyed its open world exploration, driving the Regalia for road trips, photo ops, Prompto’s snapshots, Ignis’ cooking, Noctis’ fishing and most specially the real time battle system. The main story’s honestly short if you just want to go for its story and there’s tons of side quests to add to it. Overall, story’s good which I expected from Square Enix but I wished there was more to it. Still good job on stepping it up to the next level with your works Square Enix! (•‾⌣‾•)و ̑̑♡

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
I want a Bahamut summon in-game! I NEED IT!! ( >д<)
I wish I could cook like Ignis. Please give me your cooking skills, lol.
I love fishing!!ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )
FFXV-2 please! (; ・`д・´)


#2 Danganronpa 2 : Goodbye Despair
“I love the despair and killings in this game~ ♡( ´౪` )”

2016-02-22-200431

I had to ask my friend Cin to hunt Danganronpa 2 for me and I am forever grateful for her that she managed to find one! Thing is whenever I’m trying to look a copy, its always sold out and out of stock in every game store I visit! God dang it.. (;¬_¬) This game brought so much despair in me yet I still loved it until now, lol. The killings, the story, the class trials and the executions are so much better than its first game! To be honest, this game got me mind blown with its whole story until towards the end, lol. Specially that one class trial that I considered to be one of the best killings made by this series.

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Hajime Hinata then became my bae in this fandom. ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)
– I love everything about this game-www
– Nagito is one of the best well written characters I’ve ever known and liked.
– I hate the mini-game Magical Miracle Girl Monomi. 
( >д<)


#3 Tales of Vesperia
“One of the best ‘Tales of’ titles I’ve played. ₍՞◌′ᵕ‵ू◌₎♡”

I already played Vesperia on XBOX360 but just couldn’t pass its PS3 version that made me bought it. There’s so many missing parts of the story as well as side quests which you can’t find in the xbox version. After replaying it on playstation this time, the story finally felt complete to me as well as the parts where some I had questions before when I first played it. Yuri Lowell is one of the awesome protagonists I came to love and pretty sure you’ll also come to love as you get to know more of him in the game. This is one of the best “Tales of” game titles I really quite enjoyed and love so much that I’ll definitely recommend to everyone~(*’∀’人)♥

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I love Yuri and Flynn’s friendship. ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)
– 1 Damage Skill + Fatal Strike combo!! 
– Skits with Flynn are always- 8DDD


#4 Code:Realize ~創世の姫君~ & ~祝福の未来~
“One of the best otoges I’ve played~”

2016-01-23-054031

This first  game I bought for vita to be quite honest, lol. Bought it because the art is drawn by miko, I’m a huge fan of her works, and of course it’s an otome game! I shed tears here most especially with Van and Saint’s routes. Heck, I love everyone in Code:Realize! Its fandisc, Future Blessings, was also good specially you’ll get to know what happened after the first game and it’ll be localized in English this 2017! Great story, awesome OST, awesome heroine and best dog! Yes, best dog because Sisi is the BEST! ₍ᐢ•ﻌ•ᐢ₎*・゚。

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Sisi deserves an award! ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ
– I wish they put Finis’ route in the first game- his route is sooo good!
– My heart always aches in Van and Saint’s routes.
– I want a man like Impey- I swear to God, he’s 1000% husbando material.


#5 Kokuchou no Psychedelica
“An otoge full of despair that made me cry for days.”

2016-07-13-235204

I swear this game made me cry for days even after I was playing this. My heart bled because of this game. My friend Yssa lended her copy to me as she highly recommend me to try out this game along with Clock Zero. I gotta say, I seriously will recommend this to fellow otome gamers also. The story just so good and I love how they have a flowchart too! The OST is absolutely to die for and the heroine is also voiced which was really different from the usual otoges being released and announced. I cried really. I honestly cried. Some of this game’s ends still haunts me and makes me want to replay those scenes again, lol.

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Despair in an otome game? I am SOLD~! (。•̀ᴗ-)✧
– Monshiro is my precious cinnamon roll. ♥
– Its OST makes my heart bleed and cry so much- you have no idea ‧º·(˚ ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ )‧º·˚


#6 Clock Zero ~終焉の一秒~ Ex Time
“Another otoge that made me cry over its beautiful story.”

2016-07-12-211538

Another game Yssa lended me as well as another one of her otoge recommendations! I actually played this first before Kokuchou so I was crying my heart out for these 2 otoges straight! The story is honestly beautiful! No wonder I kept hearing from fellow otome gamers that played this already that the game was really good. I never imagined Clock Zero to be a sad one and all but nevertheless, I quite enjoyed it!

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I love the art and OST so much. (*’∀’人)♥
– I loved everyone but my best boy is Madoka. ♥
– My friends asked me to rank the boys but it was honestly hard, lol.


#7 Persona 4 Golden
“School, Youth, Social Links, Murder Case and most of all- Persona!”

2016-02-15-200256

Persona 4 ported to Vita as P4 Golden with the addition of a new character who was Mari. Persona always has a place in my heart every since Persona 3 made me bled my eyes dry of tears and broke my heart with its story. Comedy is gold in Persona 4! You’ll love everyone in the game also since you can relate to their real selves which istrue to real life situations. I’m glad they ported it to Vita and I still honestly wish they’ll port P3P to vita also. ‧º·(˚ ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ )‧º·˚

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Can I still hope for a Persona 3 Portable vita port? PLEASE ATLUS! ( >д<)
– Naoto is best girl. BEST GIRL!!
– This game still never fails to make me laugh every single time.  。゚(TヮT)゚。


#8 Digimon Story Cybersleuth
“The game that got me into playing Digimon games again.”

2016-08-01-211038

The main reason I picked up this game is because you can choose to be either a boy or a girl, that was it, lol. Investigate cases involving digimons and the mysterious event happening in your world. The story’s good actually for me which I enjoyed until the end. And OTP moments of course~ (*・▽・*)

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Aiba x Arata will forever be my OTP here! ♡(ŐωŐ人)
– I can relate to Arata a lot in this game. 
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


#9 熱血異能部活譚 Trigger Kiss
“One of the funniest otoges that I wanted more out of it.”

2016-05-23-110631

The second otome game I decided to pick up after Code:Realize! Main reason I bought Trigger Kiss is because of its art drawn by Kinami Yuki. She’s also the artist of Glass Heart Princess which I quite enjoyed playing to be honest! This game was one of those I don’t regret picking up even though its been 2 years already when it was released. I wanted more romance out of everyone seriously since the comedy here was just gold! I am honestly still hoping that Otomate would give this game a fandisc. Yamatoooooo!! (˚ ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ )

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I am still praying for a fandisc over this game.. (;*´Д`)ノ
– I wanted more out of this game. I NEED MOREEEE!!
– I love Futaba. Who wouldn’t love her? ♥


#10 Nil Admirari no Tenbin Teito Genwaku Kitan
“I don’t know why I even like this messed up otoge at all.”

2016-05-17-140217

I honestly bought this at first because its about books and its one of Satoi’s works. Story’s interesting to me really but how it was written and put into the game got messed up and inconsistent once you progress further. Even if it was inconsistent, I still liked it anyway? I don’t know why though but I just do, lol. Also I have so much anticipation for its fandisc! I can’t wait to play Akira again! XD

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I like that they made use of books for their story. (˙꒳˙)
– I still can’t believe I like this trash of an otome game, lol.
– I enjoyed its Cero-D parts though and you know-www 
ԅ(≖‿≖ԅ)


Danganronpa Another Episode : Ultra Despair Girls
“I live for Toko’s never ending fantasies over Byakuya!”

2016-01-28-025623

This game is connected to the first and second game of the series which I couldn’t pass on. I also enjoyed shooting all those Monokumas and most of all- seeing Toko’s never ending fantasies over Byakuya with the roses, whipping and all with a whole lot more. Bless you Toko, bless your wonderful soul. ԅ(≖‿≖ԅ)

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– You know.. Toko’s fantasies.. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
さあ笑顔で殺しましょう 大人は皆殺しだ ~ ₍₍◝(°꒳°*)◜₎₎
– I always watch the ending scene of this game for that one certain guy


Hakuouki Shinkai 風ノ章 & 華ノ章
“The things I do just to play and know Saitou’s route.”

2016-12-31-224900

I decided to go for its twin pack even though its a remake of the original one but with added routes for 6 guys. Whenever I pick up any of Hakuouki game titles, my main reason will always be because of Saitou, lol. Nevertheless, the story’s the same as the original with a few added parts for its story. I still enjoyed playing Shinkai and felt happy with some routes. Idea Factory finally decided to localized its first part which is Hakuouki Kyoto Winds which I may pick up again.

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I will do anything just to know Saitou’s route. (ノ´ー`)ノ
– Completing the bad end trophy for Hana no Shou was a pain! ( >д<)
– I’ll save my best boy’s route for last next time, lol.


KLAP!! ~Kind Love And Punishment~
“The spirit otome game that lets me punish guys that I enjoyed.”

2016-08-14-123809

My sister’s spirit game as she says, lol. Yes, this game is my sister’s spirit game which I also enjoyed, LOL. You get to punish these supernatural beings to discipline them. Story’s good and well written but short which I still quite enjoyed nevertheless! I got so excited when Otomate announced a fandisc for this game which will be released on March soon! It’s a MUST!! 8D

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Spirit Game for all otome fangirls out there. (≖‿≖ )
– I always had to wear earphones for this game. (๑ˊ▵ॢˋ̥๑)
– You will enjoy all their voices during punishment, I assure you~ (。•̀ᴗ-)✧


Zero Escape : Virtue’s Last Reward
“Ally or Betray- I love and hate this game, seriously.”

This is one of those games that got me nervous whenever voting time is up. You can relate to real life choices here honestly speaking. It shows a lot of how a person thinks toward a stranger whom you just met. Also its story got me mind blown frankly, lol. Like I can’t believe it was like that and the ending was something I did not expect. Now I’m waiting for its first game, The Nonary Games, to be released since it has a vita port now before I pick up Zero Time Dilemma next!

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Should I “Ally”? But what if they chose “Betray”? (・﹏・)
– Sun, Moon, Star..
– When I’m playing this game, I always say “work with me brain!” X’D


Yunohana Spring!
“After being in so much despair, this game gave me light.”

2016-09-23-143410

I forgot the reason why I picked up this game but I can say one is because that its one of RiRi’s works, lol. After getting so much sadness from Kokuchou and CZ, this lifted it up. It’s light-hearted and fun on its on way while handling the business and helping out customers. Still waiting for my fandisc copy actually. ;;

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– I’m glad that they have a dog here, Fuku~ (。✧ᴗ✧)
– OST is quite relaxing that sometimes made me fall asleep while playing, lol.


Danganronpa : Trigger Happy Havoc
“The game that made me love and fell into despair.”

2016-01-19-003118

I already played this before but it wasn’t the official translated one. I never expected to love a game that has killings, investigations, class trials and executions. Reason why I honestly love this series so much. Also you just have to love its art as it fits perfectly for it! All I can say is that despair is ♥ !

Rikka’s “Inner” Fangirl Gamer Thoughts
– Thank you for dragging me into despair Monokuma. (・ω´-ゞ)^☆
– I love the pink blood~ | ू•ૅω•́)ᵎᵎᵎ


That’s the end of my gaming overview and top 10 which I played and enjoyed over the year! I decided to combine the two titles for Code:Realize and Hakuouki Shinkai since I was able to play their game sequels within the year. I can’t believe I managed to play about 18 games within a year which I was only expecting about 10 at most. www|ω・。)

As for my 2017 gaming plans, I’ll be saving it as another blog post that I’ll finish and post it by next week at most. I hope? There’s a lot of otome games to expect this year though seeing Aksys announced about 4 titles for us to anticipate! Also I should start working on my reviews for the games I played this 2016 that I slacked off, lol. I already have draft posts for them so I should work on them asap now. o(・・;o)

And lastly.. If any of you readers have accounts on XBOX and PlayStation..2016-03-02-195040Thank you Nagito for asking it. | •ω•́)ᵎᵎᵎ
If you’d like to be friends with me on XBOX LIVE or PSN, feel free to add me up!
XBOX Gamertag : ChristySera  || PSN Profile : hajimerikka

I’ll be playing on multiplayer soon because I plan to pick up FFXIV when I finally achieve the console I plan to purchase this year so let’s meet in-game then if ever you’re playing FFXIV! (*•̀ᴗ•́*)و ̑̑

And that’s it for today! I plan to make a post of my own 2016 Otome Game Awards that is quite similar to Dengeki Girl’s Style award and ranking for the otome games I’ve played over 2016. I hope it’ll just be short though, lol. I should review my 2017 gaming plans before posting them also-www I hope you guys enjoyed reading my gaming overview for 2016! I’ll see you guys again on my next post so look forward to it~! (ノ> ◇ <)ノ♪

Leave a Reply

